The area of Dadra & Nagar Haveli spread over 491.00 sq.kms. land locked between Gujarat and North and Maharashtra in South was liberated from Portuguese Rulers by people themselves on 2nd August 1954. The people of the U.T. established free Administration of Dadra & Nagar Haveli, which was finally merged into Union of India in the year 1961.

The Union Territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli is made up of two enclaves - Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and has Silvassa as its capital. Situated at the western foothills of the Western Ghats, it comprises 72 small villages sandwiched between the states of Gujarat and Maharashtra.

53% of the area is under forest cover, and the rich bio-diversity makes it an ideal habitat for a variety of birds and animals. This makes it a perfect spot for eco-tourism. If you are a wildlife enthusiast, Silvassa is an incredible eco-tourism spot. Tribes constitute over 62% of the total population. A perfect example of both can be seen in capital city Silvassa.

River Daman Ganga and its tributaries criss-cross the land, draining into the Arabian Sea at Daman.

Silvassa is a sylvan paradise, and this is indeed how it got its name, "silva" being Portuguese for "woods".

The weather in Silvassa and throughout Dadra and Nagar Haveli remains warm and pleasant throughout the year, making any time the best time to visit Silvassa.