Takeways from Electricity Amendment Bill

Takeways from Electricity Amendment Bill
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
View All News

Dear All,

We are Forwarding herewith  letter/mail received  from Urja Gyan Foundation , the copy of the said letter is enclosed herein under. The Bombay Chamber is organizing a half –day seminar on “Takeaways from the Electricity Amendment Bill 2014.” on 14th February ,2015 ,between9.30 a.m-1.30 p.m. at Ball Room ,Taj President by Vivanta,Cuffe Parade, Mumbai.

Hon’ble Minister of Power & Energy, Shri Piyush Goyal has been invited to be Chief Guest for this event. Hon’ble Union Minister of Railways, Dr.Suresh Prabhu has been invited to inaugurate the seminar. Dr Kirit Somaiya, Chairman of Parliament Committee on Energy and Hon’ble  Member of  Parliament has kindly agreed to be the Guest of  Honour.

The interested fellow industries are requested to contact directly to the organizer, for the registration and furnish the requisite information as per the Delegate Registration Form, the scanned copy of which is  attached herewith. For any assistants contact your association SIMA.

Thanking you,

With regards,

For Silvassa Industries and Manufacturers Association

Narendra Trivedi


                                                            National Seminar

Takeaways from Electricity Amendment Bill 2014

14th February, 2015

9.30 a.m. - 1.30 p.m.

Ball Room, Taj President by Vivanta, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai


Bombay Chamber appreciates the reforms proposed in the Electricity sector by the Union Government under the leadership of Hon’ble Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi. We believe these initiatives will enhance domestic manufacturing sector and ensure greater competition in the energy sector. We are sure this is one more step towards making India an energy efficient country.

In continuation of our regular efforts of enhancing dialogue between the government and industry players, Bombay Chamber is organizing a half-day seminar on “Takeaways from the Electricity Amendment Bill 2014”.

Dr Kirit Somaiya, Chairman of Parliamentary Committee on Energy and Hon’ble Member of Parliament has kindly agreed to be the Guest of Honour.

We have invited Hon’ble Minister of Power & Energy, Shri. Piyush Goyal to be the Chief Guest for this event. We have also invited Dr. Suresh Prabhu, Hon’ble Union Minister of Railways to inaugurate the seminar. We are in touch with their office for the confirmation.



a)      To brainstorm on likely impact of the reforms on service providers and customers

b)      To discuss efficient methods of implementation of reforms

c)      To facilitate dialogue between regulators and market players

d)      To enumerate best market practices in the energy sector



1)        Multiple Suppliers – Feasibility of Separation of Carriage and Contents

2)        Proposed Changes in Regulatory Framework for Electricity Sector

3)        Provisions for Increasing Share of Renewable Energy


1)      Mr. Rajesh Kumar Mediratta, Director (Business Development), Indian Energy Exchange Ltd. (IEX)

2)      Mr. R R Mehta, CEO, Reliance Energy*

3)      Mr. O. P. Gupta, Managing Director, Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd.*

4)      Mr. Rajeeb Mishra, ED, Power Trading Corporation

5)      Smt. Chandra Iyengar, IAS, Chairperson, Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission*

6)      Mr. Balawant Joshi, Managing Director, Idam Infrastructure Advisory Private Limited

7)      Dr. R R Sonde, Executive Vice President, Research, Technology & Innovation, Thermax India

8)      Mr. Sumant Sinha, Chairman and CEO, ReNew Power Ventures Pvt. Ltd*

9)      Dr Usha Ramachandran, Head, ASCI

10)  Mr. Shailendra Dubey, Chairman, All India Power Engineers Federation


(* Confirmation awaited).


Mr. Radhakrishna, Urja Gyan Foundation


Senior representatives of:

a)      Companies in electricity production and distribution

b)      Manufacturing and Heavy Engineering Companies

c)      Infrastructure companies

d)      Players in renewable energy sector

e)      Private equity and venture capital funds

f)       Members of electricity regulatory commissions

g)      Legal consultants

h)      Banks and NBFCs

i)        Insurance companies



Registration Fees

For members: Rs. 3000/- (inclusive of taxes)

For Non-Members: Rs. 3500/- (inclusive of taxes)

For Urja Gyan members: Rs. 3000/- (inclusive of taxes)

For Urja Gyan non-members: Rs. 3500/- (inclusive of taxes)


Other News by SIMA